Chicken Pot Pie (Daring Bakers Challenge!)

Hello All!

My name is Reni and I’m the owner of Sugar Haven Desserts. I created this blog to share my kitchen adventures with all of you including the recipes used to create those marvelous goodies that keep my husband and I smiling. I hope you enjoy the recipes pictures, and techniques as much as we do!

It’s incredible for me that my first blog post will also be my first introduction to the Daring Bakers! I LOVE cooking, baking, and DIY-ing my way through each day and year! Hannah of Rise and Shine was our October 2013 Daring Bakers’ hostess and she challenged us to bake our own double crusted savory pot pies. Using any from-scratch crust and filling we choose, we were allowed to get completely creative with our recipe, showing off the savory flavors and fillings from our own home or region.

Cooking and baking from scratch means so much to me because I always feel so much better knowing exactly what went into the meal I’m eating. Not to mention the pride I feel from knowing what it takes to make delicious food! A lot of times, it’s time consuming and leaves me obsessing for days to perfect a certain technique or recipe but I promise you, it is SO worth it to bring a bunch of random items together to create something amazing (or sometimes mediocre)!

I’m sure you’re wondering who eats all that food. Well, with my cozy little family consisting of my wonderful husband and I. He is the designated taste tester and since he is brutally honest; I get real, honest feedback about which recipes are incredible, just average, and a total loss.

I’ve made many a crust from scratch, so that part was easy peasy lemon squeasy for me! However, I’ve never had a pot pie, EVER! So, the filling was completely new to me! Blame it on the fact that I’m African and have never had the opportunity to try one. To make things super easy, I decided to make a simple Chicken Pot Pie, since I’ve heard about them but have never tried them. I mean, it has chicken in it, it can’t possibly be that bad! The recipe I used can be found at the end of this post!

Stick around for a play-by-play of the recipe!

For the Crust:

Image

Flour, Shortening(Butter flavor), butter(unsalted), salt, water(ice cold), and Brown Sugar.

1. Combine all the ingredients except for the water in a bowl. It’s easier to work with if the butter and shortening is cut into pieces or grated into the bowl initially.

2. Using your fingers, a fork or a pastry cutter, mix the butter and shortening into the dry ingredients using a crumbly mixture is achieved. The butter and shortening will still be visible but small.

3. Quickly stir in the cold water into the flour mixture using a fork. Turn the dough mixture onto a lightly floured surface.

4. Knead the dough about 6-10 times until it holds together (be careful not to over-mix!) Visible pieces of butter and shortening is nothing to worry about.

Image

Kneaded Dough

5. Divide the dough in half and pat each piece into a disc. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour before using it. The dough will only be good refrigerated for about a day.

Image

Dough Wrapped in plastic

Stick it in the fridge and take a cupcake break before moving on the next part of the recipe. (Did I mention that I have an incredibly insatiable sweet tooth?! Yup, I love everything sweet, creamy, chocolaty, and did I already say sweet???….I’m starting to repeat myself so it’s time to move on).

6. Preheat the Oven to 400 degrees.

IMG_2121

Flour, Peas, Carrots, Half and Half, white wine, Chicken Stock, Salt, Butter, Black pepper, Thyme, and cooked chicken.

  7. Heat oil in a skillet or sauce pan over medium-high heat. Add carrots and cook for 5 minutes, stirring often. Add onions, celery and salt and sauté until tender, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a medium mixing bowl and set aside.

8. In a separate bowl, make a thick paste using the butter and flour by mixing with a fork.

IMG_2123

Butter and Flour Paste

9. Heat the chicken stock in a skillet over medium-high heat. Drop the
butter/flour paste into the stock and whisk vigorously until it comes to a simmer. Boil briefly until
thick like honey. Whisk in the half and half (Half milk and half cream). Turn off heat, stir in wine, thyme and black pepper.

Chicken Stock and flour paste in a skillet

Chicken Stock and flour paste in a skillet

10. Stir together the cooked vegetables, chicken, peas and sauce. (FYI, dear husband and I don’t care much for celery so it was not included in my version of the pot pie)

11. Roll out one half of the chilled dough about 1/4 inch (5 mm) thick using a floured rolling pin on a
well-floured surface. Once your round of dough is about ten inches (25 cm) across, dust the top with
flour, pick the round up from the counter and dust under the dough again before rolling out
completely to about 15 inches (38 cm) across. Hold your pie plate up to the round of dough to ensure
it is large enough to fit your pie plate.

12. To set the dough into your pie plate, fold the round of dough in half, then in half again to create a
large triangle of dough. Point the tip of triangle of dough into the center of the pie plate and unfold.
Be careful not to stretch the dough while you ensure that you have the dough tucked into all corners.

13. Pour the filling into the unbaked pie shell.

Filled Pot Pie

Filled Pot Pie

14. Roll out the top crust and cover the filling. Trim excess dough and seal the edge crust by folding
the top dough layer under the bottom and pinching the dough together with your fingers or pressing
with the tines of a fork.

15. Bake in the lower third of your oven until the pastry is golden brown, 45 to 50 minutes. To
ensure the bottom is browned, you may choose to prop an electric oven open using the handle of a
wooden spoon for the last ten minutes of the baking time. If at any point you fear the top crust is
over-browning, cover with foil for the remainder of the baking time. Serve immediately while warm.

Chicken Pot Pie

Luckily, as soon as the pie was finished, my dear husband got home from work. So, that was perfect timing on my part! Since, I had never made or tasted a pot pie before, I made a quarter of the recipe, hence a smaller pot pie was created! It was luck on my part that I used a springform pan to make the pie because it made removing the pie a cinch!

My husband LOVED the pot pie and so did I! He loved it so much, it was all gone within 15 minutes of coming out of the oven! That’s what I call win on my part since neither of us had ever had a pot pie before and we both enjoyed this pie a lot!

Thanks Daring Bakers and thanks to Hannah for the opportunity to try something new!!! I am so excited about this new blog, being a part of daring bakers AND daring cooks, and being able to share it with you all!!!!

See you next week!!!

Classic Chicken Pot Pie:
Servings: about 8 (one 9 1/2 inch (24 cm) pie)

Ingredients

Flaky Pie Crust:
3 1/2 cups ( 840 ml)(17 ¼ oz)(490 gm) all-purpose (plain)
flour
1 tablespoon (15 ml) (½ oz) (13 gm) brown sugar, firmly
packed
1 1/2 teaspoons (9 gm) salt
1/2 cup (120 ml) (4 oz) (115 gm) cold shortening (I always
use butter flavored), cut into pieces
3/4 cup (180 ml) (6 oz) (170 gm) cold unsalted butter
1 cup (240 ml) ice water

Chicken Pot Pie Filling:
2 tablespoons (30 ml) vegetable oil
2 large carrots, peeled and diced
1 medium onion, diced
1/2 cup celery, diced
1/2 teaspoon (3 gm) salt
4 tablespoons (60 ml) (2 oz) (55 gm) butter, room temperature
1/3 cup (80 ml) (1 ½ oz) (45 gm) flour
2 cups (500 ml) chicken stock
1/2 cup (120 ml) half and half (half milk and half cream)
2 tablespoons (30 ml) white wine, light beer or chicken stock
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
3 cups (750 ml) (15 oz) (425 gm) cooked chicken, chopped
1 cup (240 ml) (4½ oz) (125 gm) frozen peas, not thawed

4 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie (Daring Bakers Challenge!)

  1. This looks tasty, is there anyway that people who are not so gifted in the kitchen can place orders and enjoy a part of this sweet goodness?

  2. Wow! This Rocks! I am so excited to see what you post next! May God give you favor as you share your delectable goodies and meals with the World. You are so creative and talented!

Share a sweet word if you please

