Five Course Dinner Date

This week, I realized my husband will be working on the day of, and the weekend after thanksgiving 😦  [sad face]! So, in my sadness, I decided to make a meal to remember since this will be our second thanksgiving as a married couple and the second thanksgiving in a row that my beloved will be working! Again 😦  [sad face].

I usually make elaborate 3 course meals for our stay at home dinner dates but wanted to kick it up a notch this time and decided on five courses! The last time we had a five course meal prepared by me was when we were engaged and I knew I had to pull out all the stops and as usual make items that were unfamiliar and helped broaden my food horizons while teaching me new techniques!

The meal I planned was as follows:

Amuse Bouche:
Scallop and crab mousse in  savory tuile cornet

Appetizer:
Pork ravioli with lamb medallions in garlic cream sauce

Salad:
Apple walnut arugula salad w/ raspberry vinaigrette

Main:
Braised Lamb shanks
Mashed potatoes
Steamed Asparagus

Dessert
Vanilla Tuile cookie
Mango sorbet
Raspberry sorbet
Raspberry coulis
Caramel sauce
Opera cake

I initially wanted to make a soup as the 3rd course but my hubby isn’t fond of soups so I decided on an Amuse Bouche because it absolutely had to be five courses!

It took one day of prep work to ensure that the meals would go as planned on d day!

I couldn’t (and didn’t think to) take pictures while cooking because it would have taken me 3 times as long since hubby was forbidden from coming into the kitchen and dining area!

I wanted the table to look as amazing as the meal I planned so I went to pier one, Ross, and Michaels to make the table a little more romantic!

Table Setting

I decided on silver and purple since everything else I saw at the stores were Christmas themed!

Here’s how the meal turned out!

1st Course - Amuse Bouche

1st Course – Amuse Bouche

2nd Course – Ravioli with Garlic Cream Sauce and Lamb Medallion

3rd Course – Salad

4th Course – Lamb Shank, Mashed Potatoes, and Steamed Asparagus

5th Course – Dessert

I was especially proud of the opera cake. I’ve seen them at many restaurants and always wondered what went into making one and boy was I surprised at how easy they are to make! I’d make jocondes before and all the other components but never knew that combining them could result in something so utterly divine! My husband doesn’t like coffee but LOVED this cake and even commented on how the chocolate made the coffee flavors so much better.

20131110-200801.jpg

I made the stencils and molds for the tuile cookies using some card stock I had handy.

I also made the stands for the tuile cornets using an empty frame from Michaels, some scrapbook paper, silver glitter ribbon and plastic shot glasses from the dollar store.

Amuse Bouche Stand

Cornet Cone Mold made using an aluminum tray I bought from the dollar store.

4 thoughts on “Five Course Dinner Date

  1. Wow! Once again you amaze me! Your hubby is one fortunate man! You are so talented. I could almost taste them through the phone! Keep cooking and God will make an open door for you to be able to offer such equisite meals to the world at large.

    Congratulations!

Share a sweet word if you please

