Plantain & Corned Beef Frittata

  

Fried plantains and eggs are one of my favorite dishes! It’s so flexible, you can have it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. 

This morning, I had a craving for fried plantains and eggs. Since I had some leftover corned beef, I decided to give my eggs a boost of deliciousness by making corned beef eggs. While slicing the plantains, I thought to myself, this would make the most delicious frittata, and boom! Just like that, genius struck! 😀

So, I pulled out a pan, preheated my oven and proceeded to make magic! Usually in frittata recipes, people add vegetables or onions, or pepper, I don’t do that! 

Growing up, I was a very picky eater. It wasn’t until recently that I realized my pickiness wasn’t necessarily about the foods, but about the texture. For instance, my grandmother loved to make fried eggs with onions. To me, that was a poisonous dish! Not because I hate onions,  but because I can’t stand the texture of onions in a dish, that’s the quickest way to make me gag and refuse said dish. The weird thing is, I LOVE raw onions! I can eat raw onions on their own, I like the crispness and the juiciness. However, once you chop/slice/dice onions and place it in a dish before cooking, I can’t eat it! I hate the mushiness! I’m that person that picks out all the onions in Chinese fried rice when at a buffet, they seem to have a 3:1 ratio of onions to rice, it’s very aggravating! Anyway, when it comes to my eggs, I’m a plain Jane! Give me scrambled eggs, or sunny side up, or even a poached egg, just don’t offer me an omelette with peppers or onions in it, the texture will gross me out and destroy an otherwise perfectly good meal! 

When it’s finished baking, you can definitely garnish with vegetables, peppers, parsley, cheese, or whatever strikes your fancy. Or you can add it into the dish before baking, your choice! 

After making this dish, I was elated and was sure that I had created a new recipe. To prove my theory, I searched Google for plantain frittata and was hit with a million pages that had a recipe, cue my sad face. At the end of the day, I’m sure no one has made it the way I did! I’m also pretty sure they did not come up with the recipe on the spur of the moment like I did. LOL 😀

Anyway, enough about my weird aversions and dashed dreams of being the first to think up a recipe! Here’s what you need to make my Plantain & Corned Beef Frittata:

(serves 3)

2 ripe plantains 

5 eggs

Corned beef

Salt

Thyme (optional: you know by now how much I love thyme in my eggs).

Preheat oven to 350.

Fry the plantains in a frying pan with about a cooking spoon of oil until brown on both sides.

Remove plantains from pan and let drain on a plate.

In a bowl, combine eggs, corned beef, and salt.

Pour egg mixture into frying pan or a greased baking dish.  Layer plantains on top and bake for at least 15 – 20 minutes (until eggs are fully cooked, firm in the center).  Cut a slice of deliciousness and bon appétit!

Share a sweet word if you please

