French Toast Croissant with Caramelized Apples and Walnut Streusel

Let me tell you a story about this dish. It all started innocently enough. I had posted my Creme brûlée French toast recipe and someone commented on it. Naturally, I checked out their page and the very first thing I saw was croissant French toast. My jaw dropped and I wondered why I had never thought about doing that to croissants! Form that moment, I knew I was going to try it out.

Fast forward to this morning, I opened my fridge and saw some croissants I purchased a few days ago and said, today is the day! But at the same time I wondered what I would eat with it. I didn’t want to just use syrup or whipped cream, or eggs. So, I thought to myself, I bet the texture of croissant French toasts would be similar to an apple fritter. Cue the next light-bulb moment! I decided I would make an apple filling, but I didn’t want to feel like I was eating an apple pie for breakfast, so I thought to myself, why not caramelize the apples, ding ding! But then, it would just be plain, my husband isn’t crazy about apple pie, so even though I was sure it would taste good, he would probably have an issue with the texture. Cue the next light-bulb moment! Why not add a streusel or crumble, I thought to my self! And that’s how this dish was put together! 😀

As usual, afterwards I googled to see if I had stumbled on an amazing combo and realized I wasn’t alone in my croissant French toast with Caramelized apples angle. Oh well, but I didn’t see one recipe that included a crumble or streusel on top, so hurray for me on that note! 😀.

Anywho, without further ado (that rhymes), here’s the recipe. Btw, I didn’t follow the recipe on that blog and I think I will have to make this recipe again and try someone else’s take on this amazing dish!

Croissant French Toast – Serves 2

2 – 3 croissants

1 egg

1 tsp sugar

Sprinkle of cinnamon

Sprinkle of nutmeg

0.5 tsp vanilla

3 tbsp milk

Butter for melting on the skillet

Slice the croissants in half lengthwise

Mix all the other ingredients for the egg mixture.

Dip and coat both sides of the croissants in the egg mixture

Heat a non stick skillet and melt some butter

Let the croissants cook until browned (~2 minutes)

Turn over and let cook for ~1 minute


Walnut streusel:

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp bread flour

Pinch of nutmeg

1 tbsp melted butter

Chopped walnuts (I like mine closer to ground walnuts, very finely chopped)

Combine the first 3 ingredients until butter is incorporated and you end up with a sandy texture.

Fold in chopped walnuts.

Caramelized apples:

1 apple, peeled and chopped/sliced

2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp butter

0.5 tsp flour

Melt butter in a skillet on medium heat

Once it starts to bubble, add in the sugar, apple, and flour. Stir until dissolved.

Let simmer for about 3 minutes, until sauce is brown. 

Top with streusel and bake for about 5 minutes at 350.

Keep warm.

Plate your croissants with fresh fruits or whipped cream (or both 😀).

Bon appétit!

Share a sweet word if you please

