Turkey Spinach & Mushroom Tortellini

So, I have a love affair with pasta. I can eat pasta all day long, I love it that much! More than that, I love making fresh pasta. It’s so awesome in fact, I’ve decided to invest in a pasta roller. Hand rolling the dough is sooooo painful and I feel like I can’t get it as thin as I would like. 

For this meal, I really wanted some tortellini but was not at all interested in rolling all that dough, besides, it was already 5pm and hubby was going to be home soon and I knew I wouldn’t be close to done by then if I went the fresh pasta route. Cue the random thought of the day, “well, maybe I should just use the wonton wrappers, I remember seeing something about that when I first learned the fresh pasta recipe. I always have wonton wrappers on hand! You never know when a potsticker craving will hit!

For this amazing tortellini recipe, you will need:

Package of Wonton Wrappers

1/2 pound of Ground Turkey

1/3 cup of Chopped Spinach 

1/3 cup of Mushrooms (I used baby bellas)

2/3 cups of Ricotta

2 Tbsp of Parmesan

1 egg

Sea Salt

Italian Seasonings

Minced Garlic

Finely Chopped Shallots or Onions

Heat Oil in a skillet and add the garlic and shallots. Saute until translucent and fragrant.

Add in the ground turkey. Once brown, add in the spinach and chopped mushrooms.

Season with salt and Italian seasonings.

For the Ricotta Mix:

Combine Parmesan, ricotta cheese, and one egg.

Season with salt and Italian seasonings. 

Add the meat mixture to the ricotta mixture. 

Set up a filling station by having a lightly floured surface and a bowl of water to seal the wrappers.

Wet 2 sides of the wonton wrapper.

Add ~ 1T of meat filling to the center

Fold over and seal to form a triangle.

Use your finger to dent the center of the filling and wet the edges of the wrapper.

Fold them on each other and voila!

Once you’ve finished using all the meat filling, store the extra stuffed wrappers in the freezer for another day.  

Boil a pot of salted water.

Once it’s boiling, place tortellinis in the pot and let cook for ~3 minutes.

Drain and serve with whatever sauce you like (Alfredo, Marinara, Browned Garlic Butter, etc).

Bon Appétit!

Share a sweet word if you please

